When am I going to learn that a day off does not mean sleepping in? Sleeping in is Dead. 2 and 1/2 years into this and I still stay up late on “fridays,” only to be awakened before dawn to little footsteps and “mommy granda” (the most recent word for banana, anyone want to explain THAT one to me?). All attempts to conjole him back to sleep are met with “shhhhh mommy, baby sleeeeping” screamed into my ear. Since baby was sleeping on the other side of the head that was just screamed into, the sound Of Course travelled through my head, amplified out my other ear and woke her up. And thus starts every day off my other job, the easy one. 

Today started at the ungodly hour of 5:45AM, which is early even for my kids. Today is Thanksgiving, the day we sit around with our family and friends and say how thankful we are for umm…things…and…ahhh…Stuff!? That doesn’t seem right.

Mommy needs sleep to be able to think of things I’m thankful for. I know they are there, once I return from a ride on the magical sleep train I will find said things. Once my shift is over, we are waking daddy, and mommy will ride the sleep train all the way to thankful land and wake up happy. Why? Because Publix makes thankgiving dinners, and my mother picked it up yesterday, and my sister is in town already.  

Hey look at that, I thought of something to be thankful for, and I haven’t even slept yet. Go me.

