Independence is coming, it’s on it’s way! I cheerfully set a plate of food on Jena’s tray and watch her try to use her fork to eat. It’s so cute. I stand and admire her for a minute too long, sentimentally thinking how big she is getting.

Once she’s well on her way I start making my own breakfast. While doing this she’s lost patience with the fork and is now shoveling the food in with her hands. No big deal I think, she’s still contained AND feeding herself!

I sit down to eat my breakfast, she’s decides she’s done feeding herself. Please don’t read that as she’s done EATING. No No No, as she would tell me with finger waving in my face. Silly mommy, I’m simply done feeding myself.

I’ve found I now have three choices.

1) I can feign ignorance, get her down and listen to her whine until snack time because she’s still hungry. Quick and clean, but annoying for the next hour or so.

2) I continue to eat my own breakfast while watching her begin to squish every morsel of food into her little fist and laugh completing this ordeal by running her hands all over her tray spraying whatever may be left on herself, the walls, and whoever else is unlucky enough to get in the way. I get a hot breakfast and she’s contained. But it’s a bear to clean up and it’s only bought me about 15 mins of no whining because remember, she is still hungry and now there’s nothing left edible.

3) I could abandon my nice warm breakfast and resign myself to cold eggs, again, feed her the rest of hers and let her down to get into who knows what in the house while I finish my cold eggs and warm milk.

Breakfast is way to early in the morning for these kinds of decisions.

