So I thought I was going to post today about the baby appointment. I’ve been getting pretty pumped about the up and coming home birth we are planning and was all prepared to share from my latest appointment this morning. That however, changed when Neil came home with little man and all of the words in the title came out one conversation.

I’m not exactly sure what to think at the moment. They want to obliterate (not my word choice) Grant’s adenoids and then suck them out of his body, and they want to put tubes in his ears, AND they think he has slight hearing loss. I had no idea what to expect from this visit really. We were generally a healthy bunch in my house, no surgeries, only one ER visit that I can remember (for an ear infection no less), no allergies, minimal colds. I mean we were the kids either getting or barely missing the perfect attendance awards in school all my elementary and middle school years. All that to say my experience with this type of stuff is very minimal. 

It’s a BIT overwhelming to hear that many things regarding your THREE YEAR OLD BABY in one sentence. I don’t even know where your adenoids ARE or what they DO, besides causing constant post-nasal drip (which leads to throwing up in a child that refuses to eat on a regular basis), congestion, and snoring when they aren’t working right, we’re pretty well versed in that part at this point. Neil is also a bit uneasy about the whole situation…which brings some relief…I mean at least I know I’m not alone…that’s worth something…I think. I can see lots of research on adenoids in my future.

On the flip side, even though Neil tells me Grant was none too happy with the various procedures they had to do to determine all this, all I’ve been able to get out of Grant in regards to the visit is about his Grave Digger sticker on his leg. That’s only the most awesomest monster truck ever, for those of you unfortunate people who don’t have a three year old boy obsessed with trucks of all kinds. The child knew the name of that particular truck toy before he could form complete sentences, that and Blue Thunder, but he has two Grave Digger ones, cause that’s his favorite.

