So we’ve reached a new phase in the Byce household, and we are all very excited about it. Couple that with the NIGHT and DAY behavioral changes from the diet we’ve put him on to shrink his adenoids back down and we are all a bunch of happy campers.

Grant has gone from ‘you do it mommy’ for EVERYTHING, to ‘I do it myselves!’ for most things. Please interpret this correctly, it is a good thing, a very GOOD thing. You won’t be getting any of that ‘if only they could stay little’ talk from me. Now don’t get me wrong, I loved my kids to death when they were babies, and really did and do enjoy the time. But God in his infinite wisdom did not make kids stay that way forever. For that I will be eternally grateful. I’m ready for some independence.

We, ok I, was seriously starting to wonder if it was EVER going to happen. I mean I knew it would…most of the time…kind of. But you start to have these thoughts like ‘I’m going to have to dress him in high school.’

Yesterday I was able to snap a couple of pictures to illustrate this new found independence. The following show Grant in his all matching fishy outfit he’s had for over a year now. I’ve, in the past, been able to get him to wear the shirt and sometimes the hat, but NEVER the vest and certainly not more than one at the same time. You just can’t have on THAT many fishies at once, duh mom.

But he found the vest himself this morning and decided he wanted to wear it. The when the matching things were discovered he was all ‘of course I’d want to wear a set, duh mom.’ He did need a bit of help getting the vest on correctly. He was convinced it was pants, I mean it obviously wasn’t a shirt, what else could it be right? But the rest he put on ‘all hisselfs’ including the inside-out and backward underwear. He was very proud of himself, and so was I.

so what's with this zipper thing
so what's with this zipper thing
see my fishie mom
see my fishie mom

We’ve also made serious break throughs in the potty training arena, FINALLY! The difference this has made is huge, Monumental, GINORMOUS! And no that is not an exaggeration. You never realize how much you hate changing a bazillion (possible slight exaggeration) poppy diapers a day, until you don’t have to!

Grant has now decided he can go on the ‘big potty’ and all of a sudden we’re done. He does everything on it and it doesn’t matter where you go, ’cause everyone has one. We have found we need to warn people though, as they tend to think he’s fallen in when they stumble upon him. He doesn’t want your help, and he only looks like he’s fallen in. He’s actually suspending himself inches above the water with his super bicep muscles, what can I say, I birthed a super kid.

We’ve gone through a whole pack of cookies this week he’s gone poop so much. Which by the way is his reward for going in the potty. Pee came easy, we had to break out the big guns for poop. For the last few weeks our mornings have started with Grant running to me in the kitchen and asking ‘We have more cookies momma?’ When I answer yes he calls, as he’s stripping and running to the bathroom ‘Ok, I go poo poo an get my cookie! I be right back!’ I guess a cookie’s a pretty big deal for a kid that doesn’t get sugar that much.

I think it’s cute the way he savors these cookies. I wish I could have got this pic two minutes sooner while he was actually eating it, by the time I grabbed the camera he had just finished. He told me he wanted to go outside and relax with his cookie yesterday. When I let him out he went to the swing an flipped the cushions to the ‘pretty side’ (one side is all sun bleached and the other is still fresh and new looking) sat back and ate his cookie.

Here he is enjoying the fruits of his labor. I had to sneak it through the window so he wouldn’t see me taking it, so it’s not all that sharp, but you get the idea.

it pays to be a big boy
it pays to be a big boy
