This will eventually end up in a conversation with Grant, but I feel it needs a bit of context. You’ll also want to read the post, Mr. Independent, to fully appreciate the depth of Grant’s reasoning abilities.

Last night Grant decided he didn’t want to eat dinner. ‘I want notheens’ he tells me. In the past this would have been quite normal, but since the recent diet change to shrink his adenoids he has thrown very few fits over meals and eats like a horse.

So I was a little suspicious, but choose to ignore it. I told him if he wasn’t hungry he just needed to sit in his chair with the rest of us until dinner was over. Since Nana and Papa were over for dinner, I figured he just didn’t want to waste time eating when he thought he could be playing with them. Take away the playing option and he’ll eat if he’s hungry, right? Guess he wasn’t hungry, didn’t eat a thing. In his defense he did wait semi-patiently for us to finish though.

An hour and a half later, Jena is in bed and Grant has decided to be a kitty. He’s going around the living room meowing and licking everything and everyone, totally grossing me out. Kitty is attemptig to crawl around in his night shirt (my old band shirts I re-purposed so I could keep them, oh yeah). Which was funny enough by itself, since this is a skill primarily girl children master as we force them to learn to crawl in dresses. Since he’s a boy, mastery was not his level of skill in this art.  There was a lot of rapid movement followed by abrupt stopping.

Back to the point. He manages to make his way into the kitchen and when kitty returns, it’s carrying a box of Cheerios. 

Grant: mommy kitty wants some Cheerios.

Me: kitty can have some chicken from dinner.

Grant: kitties like Cheerios mommy *accentuated by licking the box*

Me: kitties love chicken too, does kitty want some chicken?

Grant: *sits thinking for a minute* kitty go poo poo for Cheerios mommy! *and runs to the bathroom*

My three year old ‘kitty’ outsmarted me.

