Two lessons were reinforced yesterday.

1) No matter how good the change, change brings stress and kids under stress have a tendency to act up.

2) If your children are under a certain age, lets say 18, silence is something you should fear.

Anybody want to guess what Grant found yesterday? There was quite a number of things, I’m sure if you  just randomly start listing things you’ll hit on at least one of them. Crayons? Glue? Paint Brushes? Ribbon? Glitter? All of the above? What was that? All of the above you said? My I’ve got some smart readers today.

Well that’s not entirely correct. It wasn’t technically crayons he found, it was mommy’s oil pastel’s. Mommy’s very expensive oil pastels that have not seen the light of day since the kids have been born. However, when displayed so artfully on the wall only a trained eye could tell the difference.

Original Artwork by Grant Neil Byce V
Original Artwork by Grant Neil Byce V

I must say though, this is one of the best pieces I’ve ever seen him do. Would you look at all the use of color? We usually see two, maybe three colors in his pictures. This mural made use of half my set. I know it’s hard to see the different shades that were used, but they’re there, really. I plan to auction off this piece of wall to recoup my damages, feel free to place your bids in the comments.

But what of the glue, the paintbrushes, the GLITTER!?!? Oh have no fear, for those were used fantastically as well. My paintbrushes were used to distribute glue all over a coordinating wall, and the glitter, well the glitter…really what can you NOT use glitter for?

He was trying to match the star decor with all this glitter, I'm convinced.
He was trying to match the star decor with all this glitter, I'm convinced.
see how it catches the light from the flash?
see how it catches the light from the flash?
is that sand? is this the beach? NO, it's GLITTER!
is that sand? is this the beach? NO, it's GLITTER!

I really should have snapped this photo when I first came in the room, I had already scooped up an ENTIRE tube of sparkly, iridescent, extra fine goodness by the time I thought to take a picture.

Did I mention that this was the extra fine stuff? You know, like fairy dust. My children now have a regular fairy princess room, with swirling glitter in the air, glitter on the floor, glitter on their stuffed animals, pillows and every blanket they own (did I mention he’d emptied his dresser of blankets on to the floor?)

All I had to do was walk in the room and I was sparkly, by the time I finished cleaning up, I was like a freakin Rock Star. I felt like a character in that 80s cartoon, Gem and the Rockers. You know the one I’m talking about? You might not, I’m not even sure it was real. But that’s what I felt like anyway. I was now covered in glitter, both my older kids were already covered in glitter and later that night as I was nursing the baby I realized I’d transferred glitter to him as well. Look at us sparkle.

I had to go shopping before dinner and as I was walking around I could jus tell everyone was loving my new Rock Star look. It’s so totally in to have glitter in your hair, clothes and stuck to your skin when you go to the produce market. I just KNOW the staff loved me for leaving my glitter AWESOMENESS all over the remaining fruits and vegetables in the store. But that’s not the best part.

The best part is on the drive home it occurred to me, we aren’t rock stars, we’re THE CULLENS! That’s right, we are the beautiful, sparkly, vampire family of Twilight. I wish a picture did it justice, but it simply couldn’t pick up all the glitter awesomeness. You’ll just have to imagine how the sun now shimmers on my awesome littler glitter covered family.

