Yesterday was my birthday. It was the first birthday I’ve ever had mixed feelings about. I’ve always eagerly anticipated my birthdays…ALWAYS. When I was little, I always wanted to be one of the ‘big kids.’ When I was a teenager, I wanted to be older like all my older friends who were already driving or graduating or whatever was important back then.

But this year was different. This year I hit the threshold of youth. In high school my best friend and I decided that 27 was as old as any of our friends could be, it was the threshold of youth. After 27 a person was just too old, they weren’t cool anymore, they just couldn’t relate, they were out of touch.

So as I approached the age 16 year old me would have shunned me for being, I was feeling…well…old. Now I know that most of you reading this are older than me and you’re currently having a heifer.

27?? OLD!?!? You’re a spring chicken! (just an FYI saying that phrase ages you by YEARS, take it from a person who was young not to long ago) OLD? YOU DON’T KNOW OLD!!

I can hear you screaming through the screen right now, don’t try to deny it. Just because I’m old doesn’t mean I’ve lost my hearing already, I’ve got at least a few more years before that goes. I’ve only lost my memory and half of my sanity so far…

All that to say, I wasn’t exactly looking forward to yesterday, but it turned out wonderful.

Jena decided to forgo her 5:00 feeding, YIPPIE! The big kids didn’t get up till 6:45, Jacob got up at 7, and when the alarm went off at 6:15 Neil shut it off and got up.

I think you’ve probably missed the significance of what I just said. Let me explain. Before marrying Neil I got out of bed when the alarm when off. Silly me, I thought that’s what the alarm was for. After marrying Neil I found out how wrong I was. The snooze button was the reason the alarm clock existed.

For the first semester of our marriage when Neil was registered for classes at an hour I hadn’t seen that side of since high school (an hour I would kill to be able to sleep till these days I might add) I would lay in bed trying to sleep till my 10:30 shift at the resturant, while he would hit the snooze for an hour, and then decide he wasn’t going to class. Needless to say my introduction to the snooze button was a bad one.

But yesterday there was no snooze and there was breakfast in bed! Turns out when you mix ham in eggs you hardly even miss the cheese! Which I have missed sorely since it turns out Jacob is indeed reacting to dairy in my diet.

My precious big boy sang me his own version of happy birthday…happy birthday to mommy, happy birthday to mommy…you get the idea.

There were flowers and a balloon waiting for me when we dropped the big kids off with Nana. We somehow managed to get to work at 7:59, and thanks to the wonders of facebook, I was greated before even getting to the door with a happy birthday from a coworker. Jacob was a dream baby all day, I actually missed him when I got to go out for Thai without him.

Did you catch that? I went to THAI WITHOUT JACOB. I love that baby like you wouldn’t believe, but man did it feel good. I can count on one hand the times I’ve been out for an hour without Jacob. I think including the dinner Neil planned for us last night, that would be 3. Which brings me to the dinner, which was fabulous. Neil is a master when it comes to special occassions and he lived up to his reputation. The restuarant was perfect, the company divine.

All and all turning 27 was not so bad at all. Plus the waiter thought I was only 23, and even though he could very well have been lying, I’ll take it!

Thanks to all my wonderful friends and family that went out of your way to wish me happy birthday, watch my kids, and take me to eat great dairy free food!

You all are the best!

