What a whirlwind 48 hours. I don’t really know what to say about it all yet.

Tuesday morning I heard from my best friend that her labor had started, the plan was for me to be an attendant at the birth so I spent the whole day on alert waiting for the call to come. As often is the case with first labors it was stop and go for a while and when I talked to her that night the midwife was having her do some exercises to shift the baby into a better position to either stop things or speed them up.

As soon as I got off the phone with her my phone rang again. I thought she had just forgotten something, but it was my parents. My grandpa had fallen and they weren’t expecting him to make it. They didn’t have all the details and we were trying to figure out how that fall equals probable death. They said they’d call one of the other siblings and call me back. A little while later I’m on Skype with my parents and my sister and they’ve found out he’s brain-dead. One of my aunt’s is going to have to decide when to take him off life support.

At this point I know a baby is probably coming in the wee hours of the morning, I’m already tired and now I’m also in shock. I just went to bed and told them to call Neil if there was anymore news.

Back to the baby, it turns out the exercises speed things up. I got multiple texts, perfectly timed to my nighttime feedings so I was never woken up, saying things were progressing. Around 4 something I got the one I was waiting for.

I quickly got ready and as I was getting ready to go I asked Neil if there had been anymore updates and that’s when I found out he’d passed away on his own around 11 o’clock the night before. So with a heavy heart I headed off to witness and support a most amazing home birth. I’d like to tell more about that later, but I don’t know what to say yet, and I want to clear with the mommy first anyway.

How does that song go…a baby’s born an old man dies…I feel like my emotions have been through a blender, and I’m so in awe of God and this circle of life he’s created.

