Jena’s at that age. You know the one I’m talking about. That age when everyone starts dishing their free unsolicited potty opinions. She’s old enough now. She’s ready. You should really try now. Don’t you think it’s about time. They don’t give advice, they don’t tell you how to do it. They tell you their kid did it by themselves or is still not potty trained and he’s EIGHT. Neither of those really helps me.

To be honest, I have been dreading potty training Jena. She’s a girl and a second child by all the stories I’ve heard she should have spontaneously potty trained herself by now. I really think these parents of multiple children have just blocked this part of their memories, because the rest of us know it really is THAT BAD.

Not that I haven’t given it a half hearted try here and there. Always careful to not really expect anything and get my hopes up. So far she’s learned to not pee with no diaper on, she can hold it for a few hours even. But nothing in the potty, she justs waits for the diaper. She loves to sit on the potty, and I am no help there. I short circuit her efforts repeatedly because I don’t have the patience to wait for nothing.

Then today I get a call at work. Jena has something to tell me.

Jena: I go potty on da potty mommy!

I know it’s dangerous, but I now have hope! I have a dream! I have a dream that one day we will only have one child in diapers, nay that we will have no children in diapers! Yes, that’s right no children in diapers! It’s my dream, and I will dream it! It can happen.

Someday this baby will be replaced by my baby, my diaperless baby, and there will be much rejoicing. yay!

