so we took Grant’s diaper away a couple months ago. Mommy just got sick of it and decided no more.  He did great. I was amazed and a bit chagrined (like that big word?) that I hadn’t taken it away earlier. We were down to only two in diapers. The Grant’s recent bout with allergies started (don’t get me started) and he started wetting the bed at night.

lots of blah blah blah not important stuff I don’t have the energy to get into right now, and we’re up to present day. Grant occasionally wets the bed, but on those nights he actually changes his own pants and goes back to sleep. But the majority of the time, he’s fine.

So three days ago I get out of bed and as I’m walking out of the room I step on a wet spot on our rug. That’s strange my tired brain thinks, but goes no further. I start getting ready, wake up a bit, go to the kids room to get their clothes out and step on another wet spot on their rug. hmmm…what’s that, I wonder. I look around the room and find a discarded pair of underwear in the corner, still damp. So I figure this pair sat on the rug last night instead of in the dirty clothes, that’s why their rug is wet. Case closed.

The next morning comes, I go into their room to get their clothes again, and step on another wet spot on their rug. This time I find no underwear any where in the room. I put them to bed last night and I know that Grant is wearing the same underwear and pjs this morning that he was the night before. I ask him if he had an accident anyway, check his underwear to see if they’re wet, his sheets aren’t wet, he’s insistent he didn’t have an accident that night. I can’t figure it out. I tell Neil. He thinks maybe Jena’s diaper leaked. I check her, and it’s not that. Jacob was in our room all night, so it wasn’t him. We know for sure the cats were both out that night too….what could it be?

Then we have last night. I’ve already gone to bed. Neil is still up, it’s about midnight. All of a sudden the kids’ door opens and Grant peeks out, sees Neil and closes the door. Neil jumps up and goes in the kids’ room, but he’s not fast enough. When he opens the door he finds a wide awake little boy with his pants down using his rug as his own personal john.

And if that’s not bad enough, tonight when we were watching Wall-E together on the couch after dinner he runs into his room and starts peeing on his rug again! There wasn’t anyone in the bathroom, he had no sleep brain excuses, what is the deal?!?!

I’m not sure which is worse, repeatedly changing and washing sheets from a kid who still has accidents or having a kid beyond having accidents intentionally peeing on your rugs! I had a cat like him once, would only pee on throw rugs. We switched her from an inside cat to an outside cat.

I’ve got an unused tent and sleeping bag in the storage area kid…I’m just saying.

