About a month ago I bought a new camera. It’s been something I’ve been wanting to buy for a while, but it was expensive and I’m cheap and it was really hard for me to justify spending that much of the family budget on something solely for my pleasure. Then, in April, my Grandpa died. When my parents came back from the funeral they had a check for me, from Grandpa.

I agonized for weeks about what to do with that money, I couldn’t deposit it, I just left the check un-cashed. I knew what I would have done with any other extra money, the same thing we’ve been doing for the past five years with any extra money, pay off the debt. But this was an inheritance, it felt different, I couldn’t just pay another bill with it.

In the end, I decided I didn’t want to remember my Grandpa by paying off the car, a car we will use until it’s an old beater car. I bought my camera, and I haven’t regretted it one bit. Now every time I see a beautiful picture like this one, I remember my Grandpa, and I smile.

Thanks Grandpa.

