Dear anyone who will listen,

I need you to suspend your disbelief for a moment before you proceed. This did actually happen, as unrealistic as it may seem.

Tonight at dinner our whole family ate the same thing, and no Neil and I were not eating chicken nuggets or pizza or peanut butter sandwhiches. It was actually big people food, we had salmon cakes and mediteranean rice and fresh green beans. It was quite delicious actually. I hadn’t gone shopping and had to get creative and that’s what our cuppoards spit out. About 30 minutes further into dinner than I ever get I realized I had nothing for the kids. There wasn’t much I could do at that point, this whole thing was already taking longer than I’d anticipated. I decided we’d just give it a shot.

Jena had 4 servings of rice, and when I asked her to take a bite of her salmon cake she just said ok, AND DID IT. Then she ate more. Grant found out it was fish, and apparently big 4 year old boys like fish, so he ate it too. Jacob devoured his, but that’s not really anything new, that kids eats anything he can shovel to his mouth, and I do mean ANYTHING.

To say I was shocked would be putting it midly. But to say I enjoyed it would be the understatement of the year. We heard no whining, no complaining and ate an adult meal as a family. I thought I was going to have to wait another decade to live that moment. It was beautiful. And the likelyhood of it happening again is slim to none. Thus my compulsive need to document. It did happen once! It wasn’t a dream.

Still in shock, 

Joy

