I have been meaning to post for weeks about my plans to start exercising again, you know the plans that I have totally not done anything about because they have only been in my head. We went away for our anniversary (a bit late, but I take what I can get!) in April and as usual with these things I came back with a few extra LBs, if you know what I mean. A few *cough* hundred peanut m and m’s later and that few has turned into eight extra LBs. I know what you’re thinking, it’s just eight pounds, what’s the big deal? The big deal is those sneaky little buggers like to invite their friends and party and then they become squatters and do you know how hard it is to evict squatters? I ain’t going there.

Enter divine providence.

I follow Carlos Whittaker on twitter @loshwit, he’s an artist, pastor, thinker, experience architect, and Web 2.0 junkie who apparently half the people I follow, also follow…so I found out from the challenge I’m about to introduce you to. He decided to call a I’m bringing sexy back Its summer and I can take my shirt off in public challenge. And while I have no intensions of walking around topless in public, as much as certain members of this family may enjoy it (the nurslings! what were YOU thinking…), I believe I can participate in the spirit of this challenge.

So here’s the deal. It’s a 12 week challenge, ending on labor day. I have to post progress every Thursday for whatever it is I’m tracking. I’m tracking three things for this challenge.

weight loss

regular exercise

eating dinner at home

First goal is easy, just want to get the eight pounds back off, I’ll post how much I lost each Thursday. However, you will just have to take my word for it, I am NOT posting a picture of the scale, like some people

Second goal is exercising three times a week. Since Florida didn’t get the memo about it still being spring, I’m going to use my x-box kinect trainer for this challenge, in the A/C. It has a life time calorie burn tracker, I am only at like 200, yeah sad, I know. So I’ll post a screen shot of my current calorie burning progress to prove I’ve been doing something.

Third goal is honestly going to be the hardest for me, but it must be done. I am committing to eating out or bringing in food for family meals no more than 3 times a month (does not include dates). Man that hurts just writing it. For health, allergies, and budget (which is soon to be reduced), I have to make this work. I have no idea how I’m going to prove this one…ideas?

Now here’s where you come in! I need a reasonable calorie goal for a week. I want to prove I’m doing something, but let’s not get crazy here. So please post in the comments what you think is a good goal. I’m also open to ideas to prove the eating out goal, you all are creative, get on it.

So there you have it. I’ve said it out loud (even though it was really only in my head, love that). Hold me accountable you people. It is time to shine! errr…burn! errr…Sprocket!

