Dear Jacob,

Two years ago today you thrust our family out of the American norm of two kids per family. For that we are grateful, who wants to be normal anyway? I’d much rather have you.

one, two, three

You try so hard to keep up with your brother and sister, you want to do everything they do, even things they can’t do. You run circles with them playing monster, and I must say your monster is very impressive, you scare all the little baby girls. You push your little chair around the whole house so you can reach things and ‘help.’ You are on the go.

action shot from our surfer boy

You did decide you were two about two months ago. We hear lots of ME TOO and NOOOO and MYS (mine’s), though you are still fairly quick to correct when I actually correct you. Your little words are pouring out these days, most people still think you’re talking baby babble, but we know what you mean. My favorite thing you say right now is ‘nite mommy,’ every night when I tuck you in. It’s clear as a bell I often wonder if it was one of the other kids, but it’s just my baby boy getting big.

You get so excited to see the bus every morning when we drop off Grant, and then you’re sad when he goes away on it, not consoled until I remind you he’ll be home when you get up from your nap. Then it’s a whole new excitement when we go to get him, you get a bus and Grant! You love to see pains (planes) and birs (birds) anytime we are outside, your excitement is contagious, even your brother and sister find them interesting again when you’re around. You have a smile and laugh that light up a room the same way you’ve lit up our lives.

you light up even dirty rooms

You make me love your daddy more each day. You may look like me (according to some), but you act like him. We all know your sweet little demeanor didn’t come from me. I didn’t know love could be this easy.

We all love you baby boy, mommy, daddy, Gant, and Nena.

Happy second birthday.

blowing out the birthday candles

love,

Mommy

 

 

 

