So my mom took one or some of the kids to IKEA a while back (hence why I don’t remember who or how many went!), and they came back with those wooden posable dolls. I’m not really sure what you are supposed to do with them or why my daughter fell in love with them. But she more recently decided hers must be painted. After it was painted, I thought, it must be posed.

I call this ‘praying mantis’

I was laughing so hard I could barely take the picture, but I pressed on through countless blurry pictures, for your sake!

Please somebody tell me they get that movie reference? YouTube is apparently to young for the praying mantis and/or too obsessed with real praying mantises (is that right? mantises? mantisi? maybe? maybe not) for me to find the movie clip. I have now dated myself.

