I am one week in to phone-less living, and I’m doing just fine. The world around me however, is not. I had never considered how annoyed everyone else would be that I didn’t have a phone. My poor husband has been working on my phone for a week trying to revive it. He’s opened it up, swabbed up all remaining water, cleaned with alcohol, and has now ordered a new battery, fairly convinced this is all that’s needed. We shall see. Everyone else just seems highly concerned or surprised or down right shocked. I suppose a few months ago, I probably would have been too.

I, however, have greatly enjoyed my phone free existence so far. There are so many less distractions during the day. Not knowing the time when out makes me feel like we’re in the real south, and life moves slow. We rarely have to be somewhere at an exact time and heading outside until we’re done instead of for an arbitrary time is nice. Running without music has not been as bad as I had thought, granted I’m still in low mile phase of training, but still, not that bad. I just set a timer when I leave and run I route I know the miles for and viola, I have all I need to add miles to my app on the ipad. I almost feel I push myself more without the constant stats, though I really do enjoy them!

But you know the greatest stress relief about it all. I can’t break it again! I feel like I’ve been living in a constant state of paranoia since the first break, I’d never really experienced that before. Having no phone issues for all those years had left me in an innocent state of bliss. That innocence is gone, and it was replaced with a low grade constant state of “where’s my phone?” Not having it all, has been amazingly peaceful.

So that’s been my week in a nutshell. I have a feeling my phone free time is about to end. If I’m complete honest, I’m a little resentful that it is probably coming back so soon. But I’ll have to work on someway to mitigate that. Till next time!

