We started a new screen time regimen. Today is one of our no screen days for the kids. There are already pros and cons to this new plan, we are barely a week in. Con numero uno (and I really feel like this counts as more than one) without screens the boys wake up and come TALK TO ME. I am trying to appreciate this, having your children want to talk to you is a good thing, and I love him and when I am conscious I know this. But I do not wake up when they wake up, I have not since they were able to turn on Netflix and get themselves a snack. The oldest in particular has always been an early riser, I spent years up at 5:30 with him. I relish waking up in daylight, it is a serious perk to my current job, LOVE IT. I am not a morning person and he apparently still wakes up talking a hundred miles a minute (most of that about what ever will he do without a screen!) and now it’s to me. The little one comes in and cuddles in bed, which is all sweet for about 30 seconds. Because he doesn’t do still, so I’m getting kicked and petted and crushed by a no longer little “baby” while I’m still getting talked at by the other one all while still trying to wake up myself. But the beautiful girl child is still sleeping past me, and now longer whining that the boys got so much more screen time than she did (due to aforementioned earlier wake up) so there’s that.

We’ve always had screens off after breakfast through nap time on the weekdays. But the total time had been gradually inching up as I had to get more and more paperwork and baby stuff done. It was just easier, but it also meant that there was more whining about it, inconsistency breeds it. I know this. I just don’t always have the energy and mental fortitude to do anything about it. They also can sense these things and the whining starts. But why can’t we have more today? We had more yesterday? Surely if we ask at least 20 more times we can bend this rule again? Right? They were all secretly meeting about this I’m sure. It’s what they talk about for that hour they play in their room before actually falling asleep. They had a schedule with assigned shifts to badger me it about ALL AFTERNOON. I’m convinced.

So it was time for a new rule, one that had never been broken! A fresh start. No screens at all on Mondays and Fridays and a time limit on the other three days they are allowed to manage within the an allowable window. So far Friday, our first complete screen free day was glorious (you know after the morning wake up part). The afternoon was so peaceful without Barbie Life in the Dream House and stampeecat (I’m sure I did not spell that correctly) minecraft videos simultaneously invading my house. It was like we had finally booted an unwelcome house guest. Don’t let the door hit ya on the way out! Oh wait! Do! Do let it hit ya and kick you to the curb sucker!

Looking forward to seeing how it continues to play out. Hoping for the best.

Disclaimer: This post is in no way intended to start any type of mommy wars over the appropriate amount (or non amount) of screen time. Also just say no to the guilt. If you need it more right now, use it. I did when I needed it and now we can cut back again. Do what works for your family Ā šŸ™‚

