It’s recipe time again! Finally delivering the promised week 4 of meals. If you missed them, here are weeks 1, 2, and 3.

1. Curry AKA Coconut Milk Soup to my children

Curry is a nice one to clean out the veggies in your fridge, I’ve had curry with just about any veggie in it. But if I’m picking favorites I like 1 white onion, 1 green pepper, 1 red pepper and about half a pound of fresh green beans all sliced. If we have it, the kids find it fun to have bamboo in it since they’ve seen it on their nature hikes.

The Thai kitchen green curry paste is my favorite and all the recipe instructions are right one the bottle! The bottle calls for a can of coconut milk and brown sugar for the base, we’ve also used the Original Silk Coconut milk instead of the can and brown sugar successfully. The kids like to drink the coconut milk (and I like it for my iced chai lattes!) so it’s usually sitting in my fridge. Serve with rice.

2. Spaghetti

This is probably a staple on your menu already. It’s an easy throw together meal that’s usually already in the pantry even if I’m needing to go to the store. We use any kind of noodles we have on hand.

Barilla makes a good gluten free pasta that I can easily and cheaply stock on Publix’s BOGO sales. It’s one of the few not made from GMO corn. Gluten free usually means A LOT of corn products, we try to keep to nonGMO corn where we can.

One note on cooking gluten free pasta, SET A TIMER! They over cook and turn to mush very easily.

3. Fried rice

Here’s a way to clean out that leftover rice from your curry night. You need to use leftover rice or it’s too sticky. I tried the freezer method, once. I’m not going to even explain it. Use leftover rice. 2-3 days old is best.

I put a few tablespoons of this coconut oil in the pan with a few drops of sesame oil. Let it heat up and then add whatever veggies we are having.

Diced onions, celery and mushrooms is a favorite of the adults. The diced vegetable medley of my childhood (peas, carrots, corn, and lima beans) is the kids’ preference. While the veggies are softening up, scramble 4 eggs in a separate pan. After the veggies are soft add the leftover rice and about 1/4 cup of braggs liquid aminos (soy sauce alternative).

Saute it all together till warm and mixed in chopped scrambled eggs right before serving.

4. Grilled Sandwiches

Sandwiches for dinner is usually met with a groan. However, if I throw them on the flat top they’re everybody’s favorite!

Ham or turkey lunchmeat a slice of cheese for those that can have it and pickles. Easy peasy.

5. Shrimp and grits

This is not usually one anyone will even attempt diary free, but we all eat it diary free, it’s still good.

This recipe is the closest to what I make, we just omit the cheese and use Earth Balance for the butter. It barely feeds all of us (meaning everyone gets 1 serving, but wants 2!) I should really double that recipe, but shrimp is expensive! Turkey bacon works as well.

It’s super yummy, I think I need to put it on next weeks menu, mmmmmm.

6. Black bean bake

This was the recipe that originally inspired this meal. I must say I have never used the artichoke hearts or brussel sprouts…not something we usually have lying around. I have added leftover chicken and BBQ sauce. I have also put whatever vegetable is about to turn in my fridge in it.

So really I just usually follow the spirit of this recipe, black beans and an oven. The rest is up to you!

7. Quinoa and Sweet Potato chilli

I’m being kind to all you structured rule followers for this one. I know some of you cringe and curse me with all my throw a little of this in and a little of that and mix for an indefinite period of time!

This meal comes from this recipe and I do what it says, exactly.

So there you have it! The 4th and final week of meals. I hope you’ve found some your family can enjoy as well.

Breif adoption update! Lots of you have been asking. We appreciate the interest! There isn’t anything new to tell at the moment. We are still in waiting, learning to be comfortable with the ambiguity of tomorrow or next year! We are preparing little things here and there, reading our homework and gathering baby things.

A big THANK YOU to those who have donated baby items, to date things received or in transit for baby girl Byce include a car seat and base (within the 5 year mark), cloth diapers, socks, shoes and clothes, clothes and more clothes! Enough to last the first few years!

We have also received enough for our match fee when the time comes. We are working toward the big one, placement fee. Your generosity has been overwhelming and such a blessing. Thank you, thank you, thank you to all of you that have given your money, baby things and prayers! I cannot express enough how much of a blessing you all are to our family. I personally am looking forward to telling baby girl Byce about all of you and how God used a whole village to bring her to her forever home.

