it’s time to train for this years half marathon! Disney is NOT happening again, but the Lake Nona one was smaller and easier and overall wonderful. It was also the first inaugural run, kinda feels like the start of a tradition to me. Even if this time of year I question why I run. I can’t believe I do this to myself. I’m pretty sure that I’m crazy every time I come back. It just gets better from here. It is amazing to me the shift that occurs when a training schedule clicks in.

1. There is no more “I should run today”

It’s on the calendar. It is happening. They are scheduled in and around.  I run in the heat. I run in the rain. If I can make it through the rain filled frozen hell that was Wine and Dine, I can make it through a little training run in some rain.

2. I run in the morning.

Should anyone be deceived, I am not a morning person. I do not wake up early voluntarily. My preferred sleep hours would be somewhere around 1am-10am. My body, society and life in general has not appreciated or allowed my preferred hours. I I have adapted as best I can. This has not made me a morning person. But if we have plans in the evening, as we often do, runs must happen in the morning. If it’s training season, they will, morning person or no.

3. The miles start racking up!

The beginning of the training schedule is still mostly low mileage runs. Consistency however is even better than longer runs. Those miles just start piling on and the goal actually moves into site. It’s pretty exhilarating.

4. My house smells vaguely of a locker room, pretty much always.

I already have boys. We already live outside, a lot. Bycemaster is on another workout kick himself and now I’m training. Sweat stinks. My bathroom has sweaty clothes in it. The laundry room has sweaty clothes in it. Also, in Florida summers especially, running clothes don’t ever really lose that smell. Can I get a witness here? Ok, for those of you about to tell me your magic way to get smells out. I CAN get it out, if I put a lot of extra work into it. I know how, it’s been done. I also know that is way too much work for clothes that are just going to smell again 5 minutes after they’re put on. There are designated sweaty clothes, that’s all they’re used for. They’re just going through once people, and not in the 2 hour cycle.

5. I start feeling really good.

Regular exercise is awesome, no matter what you’re doing. I would highly recommend it, walking, yoga, whatever you can do is awesome! But even more awesome is exercise when working toward a goal. I love goals, they fuel my life. Exercise goals are just a double win.

So what goals are you guys working towards? Anybody else training for something? 5K? Half? Full? (you crazy people you, but you go!) If you don’t have any goals currently…what do you want? What goals can you set? I should really write a post on goals, good goals, real goals, not wishes…I seriously love them. They are awesome.

