Let me start this with saying, I love homeschooling my kids. I love having them home with me during the day. I love getting to teach them things and watch them grow in their ability to learn on their own. I love seeing them pursue their own interests that don’t even involve me. This so far has been one of the most satisfying and enjoyable jobs I’ve ever done. Most days I do feel like a super hero.

homeschool-superpower

It is challenging. It has its hard parts. Most things worth doing are difficult at times.

School is starting. I’m already seeing first day pics from private schoolers and homeschoolers, public school’s first day is just around the corner!

Our little school is entering it’s third official year. This year we’ll have a 4th grader, a 2nd grader, a Kindergartner and a Preschooler in our ranks. We don’t really take off the summer, but we do ramp up the motivation and introduce new routines in the fall. So far I’ve managed to get through planning 2 of those kids and group time for the next few weeks. That still leaves a bit lacking. I actually am the type that likes to plan, but I’m starting to wonder how this planning things is supposed to happen as the children get older, more children are added and the subjects get more involved. These last almost four years I’ve been working out of our home we’ve grown accustomed to decent dinners cooked at home and mostly clean and usually put away laundry. I’ve grown accustomed to having my nights available for social activities or exercise or reading. But this homeschooling thing is turning into more and more of an actual job and I already have a few of those.

So tell me all you seasoned homeschoolers. Where do you fit in planning? Do you go out somewhere? Is having evenings a pipe dream? Does the house just fall apart during planning season? Does your spouse take the kids for you? Is there some group for this? HOW DO YOU FIT THIS IN?

