We are getting ready to go on vacation. For a whole week. Just our family. We are breaking new ground over here. Long overdue ground. I am super pumped!

Cat sitting and house sitting is set up, van is cleaned out, suitcases are almost packed. Which means it’s time to blog! Right? Packing food, finishing the suitcases, cleaning the dirty dishes and taking out the trash…I am certain they all come after blogging.

I want to leave you with your first tidying assignment! I know already that some of you are going to scoff at this assignment (I can hear you in my head). But this is important. I want you to give it your full attention this week.

I want you to visualize.

Yep that’s right. This week’s assignment is all in your head. But we can’t get anywhere when we don’t know where we are going.

So from Marie:

“This means visualizing the ideal lifestyle you dream of. If you skip this step, not only will it delay the whole process, but it will also put you at a higher risk of rebound.”

“Think in concrete terms so that you can vividly picture what it would be like to live in a clutter-free space.”

“Your next step is to identify why you want to live like that.”

She recommends you ask why to each piece you visualize at least 3-5 times. Really drill down to why you want this.

So for me, I know my house is going to be messy, I have a bunch of children here, we are (lord willing!) going to have a baby here again. Messy it will be.

But…I want everything to have a place. Why? Because I want the house to be 15 minutes from tidied, even when it’s messy. If everything has a place and everyone knows where that place is, picking up is quicker and easier. Why? Because I want us all to be able to sit down at night and relax in a clean environment. Why? Because I love beautiful things and I love the beautiful things I’ve put in our home, when I can see them. When I’m not distracted by the piles and mess and clutter. Why? Because they bring me peace and joy. We have more anxiety than we need in our life right now. I want peace. And there we have arrived.

I am doing this for peace.

The physical clutter is just a part of the mental clutter. We are facing and dealing with both over here. I’m really in this for the mental benefits.

Really think this week and visualize a whole day in your clutter free space. What will it look like? Feel like? What will you do in that space? Can you see it?

Why do you want to live clutter free? Why? Why? Why? What’s really driving you?

I’ll see you next week! Can’t wait to hear what you come up with!

